A new line-up from York’s progressive partnership

With the creation of the new Liberal Democrat-Green Partnership at the City of York Council, the prospective Executive Members that will lead the Council in improving services for residents have been announced.



The new Executive Team will soon commence work, following the Annual Council meeting on 22nd May, delivering a new vision for the Council and York. This will include improving the front line services which matter to residents and addressing the challenges the city faces.

The prospective Executive Members are now confirmed as follows:

• Leader of the Council, including Policy, Strategy and Partnerships – Cllr Keith Aspden
• Deputy Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Transport – Cllr Andy D’Agorne
• Executive Member for Economy and Strategic Planning – Cllr Andrew Waller
• Executive Member for Environment and Climate Change – Cllr Paula Widdowson
• Executive Member for Finance and Performance – Cllr Nigel Ayre
• Executive Member for Health and Adult Social Care – Cllr Carol Runciman
• Executive Member for Housing and Safer Neighbourhoods – Cllr Denise Craghill
• Executive Member for Culture, Leisure and Communities – Cllr Darryl Smalley
• Executive Member for Children, Young People and Education – Cllr Ian Cuthbertson

As part of the new Executive arrangements, Executive Member roles will focus on climate change, affordable housing, transport and the economy, to ensure greater capacity to improve oversight of the Council. The changes will see one new Executive Member role and will generate future efficiencies at the Council, including an action plan towards becoming a zero-carbon city.

Cllr Keith Aspden, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, commented:

“I am pleased to announce our new Executive Members and look forward to working with them in their roles from the 22nd May. The new team will provide a rich mix of talent, experience, new ideas and most importantly, commitment to York, its local communities and residents.”

“Over the coming months and years, we will increase the Council’s focus on improving the city’s frontline services and create the capacity to deliver for our local communities. This will include Cllr Andrew Waller leading on economic development and Cllr Paula Widdowson leading on climate change. Our team will work on building confidence in the Council by giving residents a greater voice.”

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.